The Family

At the beginning of the 20th century Franz Ultsch brought the hotel called Schwarzer Adler into the family. Back then it was a traditional guesthouse and under lease for some time, before Helmut Ultsch took over the business in the mid-50ies. The trained gastronomer adapted and extended the house together with his wife Margarethe. The house’s excellent reputation for its cuisine – beyond the borders - dates back to this time. From 1978 onwards son Werner headed the cuisine for some 10 years. Thanks to its high quality, the business received the honour of being admitted to the exclusive circle of the Romantic Hotels Austria.

In the late 1980ies, Harald Ultsch, one of the four children and already the 4th generation, took over. As a graduated business student with experience abroad, especially in the USA, he expands the business, mainly in the hotel area.
His wife Sonja has experience in the world of fashion and introduces new ideas. It proves to be quite a successful combination. Her good taste in interior design and decoration of restaurant rooms and guest rooms sets new standards for the Innsbruck hotel businesses.

In 2006 Harald Ultsch opened Harry’s Home Graz, the first sister company, which has a new hotel concept that meets modern travel habits and also offers short-term studios.

With the locations in Linz 2009, Dornbirn 2010 and Vienna 2012 Harry’s Home has meanwhile become a well-established brand of the Austrian hotel market. With a first Harry’s Home in Munich the business is also going to enter the German market in 2015. With a first Harry’s Home in Lienz the business is also going to enter the west austrian part with the idea Harry´s Home. Further projects are planned.

In Innsbruck too, the Schwarzer Adler hotel will get company with the aDLERS hotel, a new design hotel with 75 rooms, each of which offers a breath-taking view over the roofs of Innsbruck and of numerous mountains, and with a fantastic gastronomy including bar, restaurant and a terrace on the 12th floor.

The continuance of the business in the Ultsch Family seems not at risk, since already two of the three children have shown their interest in the business. While the youngest, Valentina, is going creativ ways in here education, Fabian Ultsch has still some years to gain some experience abroad, the older son, Florian Ultsch, already works actively in the business.

Adlers Hotel, Bruneckerstrasse 1, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria, T. +43 512 56 31 00, office@deradler.com
Romantik Hotel Schwarzer Adler, Kaiserjägerstrasse 2, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria, T. +43 512 58 71 09, info@deradler.com

Familie Ultsch

Die Familie

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts kam der Schwarze Adler unter Franz Ultsch in die Familie. Der damals bürgerliche Gasthof war noch einige Zeit verpachtet, bis Mitte der 50-er Jahre Helmut Ultsch den Betrieb übernahm. Der gelernte Gastronom adaptierte und erweiterte den Betrieb zusammen mit seiner Frau Margarethe. Vor allem der Ruf der ausgezeichneten Küche über die Grenzen hinaus wurde in dieser Zeit begründet. Ab 1978 leitete für ca. 10 Jahre Sohn Werner die Küche. Als Anerkennung und Auszeichnung für hohe Qualität wurde der Betrieb damals in die exklusive Gemeinschaft der Romantikhotels Österreich aufgenommen.

Ende der 80-er Jahre folgte Harald Ultsch, einer von vier Kindern, - nunmehr in 4. Generation - nach. Als absolvierter Wirtschaftsstudent mit Auslandserfahrung, vor allem in den USA, setzte er seine Energie in die Erweiterung des Unternehmens, besonders in den Hotelbereich.
Ehegattin Sonja setzte neue Akzente mit ihren Erfahrungen aus der Modebranche. Wie sich herausstellte, eine äußerst gelungene Kombination. Durch ihre sichere Hand bei der Innengestaltung und Dekoration von Restauranträumen und Gästezimmern schuf sie neue Dimensionen in der Innsbrucker Hotellerie.

2006 eröffnete Harald Ultsch mit "Harry's Home Graz" den ersten Schwesterbetrieb, der mit einem neuen Hotelkonzept modernen Reisegewohnheiten begegnet und auch "Wohnen auf Zeit" ermöglicht.

Mit den Standorten Linz 2009, Dornbirn 2010 und Wien 2012 hat sich Harry´s Home mittlerweile zu einer etablierten Marke am österreichischen Hotelmarkt entwickelt. 2015 folgt der Sprung nach Deutschland mit der Eröffnung eines Harry´s Home in München als auch der Schritt nach Tirol mit einem Hotel in Lienz. Weitere Projekte sind in Planung.

Auch in Innsbruck erhält der Schwarze Adler Gesellschaft durch das aDLERS, ein neues Designhotel mit 75 Zimmern, jedes davon mit atemberaubendem Blick über die Dächer von Innsbruck auf die zahlreichen Berge und Spitzengastronomie mit Bar, Restaurant und Terrasse im 12. Stock.

Der Fortbestand des Unternehmens in der Familie Ultsch sollte auch in Zukunft gesichert sein, interessieren sich doch schon 2 der 3 Nachfolger für die Weiterführung. Während die Jüngste, Valentina eine kreative Ausbildung genießt und Fabian Ultsch noch einige Jahre Zeit hat um Auslandserfahrung zu sammeln wirkt der ältere Sohn, Florian Ultsch, bereits aktiv im Unternehmen mit.

Adlers Hotel, Bruneckerstrasse 1, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria, T. +43 512 56 31 00, office@deradler.com
Romantik Hotel Schwarzer Adler, Kaiserjägerstrasse 2, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria, T. +43 512 58 71 09, info@deradler.com